top of page
Writer's pictureVale Nutri Coach

Happy Mother's Day!!

I am mom myself since only three months and I can say, it is the most beautiful experience in life. It requires a lot of energy but those energy are paying off! 

You might wonder how I keep following a healthy life style while having a little princess of three months only. Well, it is challenging but not impossible if you are motivated. Here my recommendations for future moms: how to keep healthy and remain fit while taking care of your little pearl. 

First of all, I would recommend to forget planning: it is hard to plan any kind of activity but it is not impossible. I was used to workout every day for at least one and an half hour (exceptionally weekend even twice a day). Now, in order to have a good workout and time for all the rest ( first of all, my baby!), I optimize my training by using high intensity interval training which requires less time and greater effort. If you can, take your baby with you! You can even practice it at home. I added as well one day recovering, which doesn't need to be one day of laziness: you can walk with your baby outside and do some stretching while he/she is sleeping. 

Next fundamental thing is drinking plenty of water: water as many functions in our body including eliminating waste, making nutrients and minerals accessible for cells and keeping skin healthy and hydrated. 

Do not forget to eat properly! Cooking might be very challenging in this moment of life. Prepare ingredients upfront and keep them at the right temperature till preparation time. Time to time, I even freeze them! Make sure you get sufficient protein intake: tendency is to increase carbohydrates because easier and faster to prepare! Make a week schedule with what you want to eat and stick with it, this will help you to maintain a balanced diet.

The biggest problem when having a small baby is to get enough sleep. We know that lack of sleep means low energy, more hunger, feeling of sickness... Here, I could not find a good solution. I can only recommend to take a nap as soon as you can! I did fall asleep during a yoga class.

Last but not least, care of your back! You are now constantly carrying a growing baby, sometime you are staying in weird positions and you still have pain left from giving birth. Trying to do on a regular basis some stretching for your lower back and some posture exercises. You will be happy in future to have done that and your back will say thanks to you!!

Then, enjoy your baby! That is the most important thing! Play, sing, dance and speak with him/her..

...happy and healthy baby is an happy mom!


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page