top of page
Writer's pictureVale Nutri Coach

I am blowing and my body is soft like a pillow! why???

Hi everyone, I am Andrea, personal trainer working since many years at Virgin Active in Italy, Brescia. I would like to contribute to my sisters’ blog with some articles related to fitness. I will surprise you and probably open your eyes on certain common questions and mistakes…just be patient and you will see! I will answer some questions which probably you also have, who knows? Enjoy reading!!


Some time ago, a friend who was not yet my client, asked me: “ why, if I am eating less, I am training regularly cardio, I am following almost everyday fitness classes and I cut carbohydrates since years, I am still blowing and my body is soft like a pillow rather than tonic?”


Well, I am performing since years analysis on body compositions and the two terms, soft and blowing, can be technically called ECW which stands for “extra cellular water”. So, what is ECW? It is water which stays outside cells and, in high quantity, could cause hydric retention. The problem itself is not hydric retention, which is only a consequence of EWC status, but it is lack of lean tissue, better.. lack of a part of it, muscular fibers. Muscular fibers can recall water inside cells and that is the reason why tonic people do not have hydric retention and cellulite.

Now your question is for sure: “how do i build lean tissue and muscle fibers”? this is a long story! I will answer you in the next article.. I can only ensure that you do not build lean tissue eating less and doing hours of cardio training at low intensity!!



See you next time and remain fit!



64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page